Track Closed

Posted on May 30, 2012

0


I updated a few things today: my resumé, the 211 Motocross website, and my contact information. Six years after approaching my dad about promoting motocross races, I’ve closed the bracket on the time I worked with the Sunbelt Series and 211 Motocross.

A week ago, I signed the closing documents on the piece of property I owned in west Texas. I sold the starting gates, returned the equipment, and picked up what was left of mine in the office. It’s someone else’s dream now and I’m not too upset about it. The last six years have been amazing and I wouldn’t trade any memory (even the bad ones) for a chance to do it differently.

I’ll always remember the late nights traveling to/from west Texas from DFW with a buddy or two. Stopping at the 7-11 and asking the cashier to “give me all the egg rolls you have.” My Silverado hitting 150,000 miles, 200,000 miles, and 250,000 miles out in the middle of nowhere. All the awesome cafes and and rest stops.

I’ll remember sitting in a water truck, or a skid steer, or a front-end loader, or a tractor, and watering/plowing/moving dirt all night and all day. Prepping the entire property to perfection for two days of madness.

Forgetting to drink water, remembering to buy beer, and eating whatever I could scrounge from the concession stand or one of the generous families. Sitting around a fire pit or a fan and talking about what’s to come or what had passed. The dust storms, snow storms, thunder storms.

More than anything, I think I’ll remember the friends I made and the relationships that came from promoting these events. How the community came together to support an injured rider. How volunteers would come out of the woodwork when help was needed. The sharing of drinks, food, work, and laughs.

Of all the photos I have of myself handing out awards, announcing the races, working on the track, or selling t-shirts, this is one of my favorites. To me, this is what it was about. A friend of mine enjoying something I had worked hard to put together and being able to cheer him on. Microphone and handset in the pocket so I could watch the race and support those who supported me.

Now, the track is gone, the event is on hiatus, and I suddenly have a lot more time on my hands. It’s been nice to focus on myself, my career, and my personal riding/racing. All the same, I miss the friends I made and I miss the feeling I got from organizing an event and pulling it off. Shaking hands at the end of the day while people are on their way out. I’m not sure how long I can stay away.

