Pulling

Posted on March 9, 2011

3


Lately, I’ve been pulled in a lot of different directions. Luckily for me, most of these directions have been either beneficial or fun.

I started a new job (I know, again?) a week ago. It’s a rung or two higher on the career ladder; a ladder that leads to a much more stable place. I plan on staying here a while, if they’ll have me, and doing my best to progress myself and the company.

The Sunbelt Series is right around the corner. If you don’t know what that is, you probably don’t ride motocross. If you do ride and don’t know about the Sunbelt, you should do some research. Every spring, I promote a series of races in west Texas and every spring, they have grown. This year, I’m hoping for 350+ racers to attend and things have been hectic. The first round is coming March 27.

To promote that series and my track in general, I started a blog called “Behind the Scenes.” It is in that blog that I discuss the ins and outs of promoting a motocross race and answer questions via video. Because rule numero uno is consistency, that blog has stolen Monday, Wednesday, and Friday nights from me.

I recently signed a lease on an apartment in Addison and am looking forward to that move. However, the move happens the weekend after the first round of Sunbelt and since I’m taking days off work for that, I haven’t quite figured out how I’m going to move also. Perhaps the next weekend…

There is good news for my sanity, although bad for my bank account – I’ve closed most of my freelance “accounts” in order to focus more on my career and life. I now have my life down to:

  1. God
  2. Family (and Kelli)
  3. Friends
  4. Career
  5. ONE side project
  6. Riding
  7. Social life

And yes, in that order.

My hope is, in the course of being pulled in so many directions, I’m consistently being pulled forward. I don’t mind going forward and left, or forward and right, or forward and up, or whatever – as long as I’m going forward.

