Decade = Dominated

Posted on January 2, 2011

0


“We just made it through the first decade of the new millennium.”

My girlfriend, Kelli, had the revelation this morning. It just hit me now, a good 12 hours later. Maybe because I just now sat down long enough to think about it. The last few days (hell, weeks) have been insane. I started a new job at The Sapphire Agency just before Christmas, had a blazing-fast Christmas weekend, then spent New Year’s Eve riding and dancing my face off at my first Ghostland Observatory concert.

Ghostland Observatory ShowGhostland, by the way, was amazing. The guy has so much energy, it’s impossible to not feel the music. I’ve never seen one guy’s energy feed hundreds of people like that. I was so into it, I couldn’t name you one song they played; all two hours ran together into one laser-filled dance fest.

The show was at the Marriott in downtown Dallas and we dropped a little extra dime to get a room at the Sheraton across the street. So what if we live 25 miles away? Turned out to be a great decision. When the music stopped around 2 a.m., we strolled back to our room and went to sleep. No car hunt, no traffic, and no DWI. Top that off with a great view of downtown and a place to pre-party; greatness.

Back on topic – the first decade of the 2000’s is gone. In the past 10 years, I’ve travelled across this country and others racing motocross with some of the best riders in the country. I’ve lined up next to a few who are now some of the best riders in the world. I never beat them, but I can say I’ve started next to them!

I’ve written for a number of national motocross magazines, some of which allowed me to travel the country and see places I’d have never seen otherwise. During that time, I made many friends I still talk to, logged more than 250,000 miles on my truck, and made more memories than this WordPress could hold.

I graduated high school as Valedictorian and moved out of my parents’ house. The latter seems to be a great accomplishment these days. I went from high school and my parents’ house to UNT and multiple apartments. I don’t want to count the number of times I’ve moved. I found my love of writing and managing relationships in the Mayborn School of Journalism, of which I was the first graduating class. I got my diploma in December of 2009 and spent the next year couch hopping and job searching. I landed my first full-time, career-oriented job a couple weeks before Christmas of 2010.

I really think I could go on and on about racing in Mexico, driving non-stop to California (or the other time we did it to Florida), the friends I’ve made, the classes I skipped, and how much I’ve grown. But, I won’t. I won’t because we all have our own stories to tell and those stories aren’t made by reading someone else’s. So, I’m going to encourage to stop reading about my stories and go make some of your own.

I can’t wait to read this in 10 years.

