Bottom of the Barrel…

Posted on May 14, 2010

0


For any of you out there searching for a job, I just want you to know you are not alone. Day in and day out, I am blasting Twitter, LinkedIn, and every contact I have, letting each one know how ready and willing I am to get to work. Like many of you, I have my side projects for friends and family that keep my rent paid, my electricity on, and my phone only a month or two behind schedule.

Lately, it’s been getting exciting to receive replies from companies that let me know I wasn’t chosen. At least I know they are reading my e-mails.

On the other hand, I’ve stopped getting my hopes up when someone wants to meet. Sure, one more lunch is one more contact in my network, but it’s also another $6.27 out of my bank account. By the way, at business/casual lunches, order a water and the lunch salad or soup. Healthier, cheaper, and shows you care about yourself. If you don’t care about yourself, how will you care for another’s company?

Today, I hit the bottom of the barrel. The barrel being my funds. The photo of the awesome jar is not the peach preserves my grandma sent me to celebrate the beginning of summer. A few hours ago, it was my piggy bank. Today, I visited Coinstar and claimed what was left of the money in my house as my own. Looks like spaghetti and eggs are on the menu for the rest of the month.

So, my unemployed comrades, don’t let your failing (so far) job search and dwindling accounts reflect on your attitude. Potential employers tune out when you’re not in the zone. Don’t let them know you’re struggling and need the job – let them know you WANT the job. In the meantime, take up those side projects and don’t be afraid to charge for them. A direct mail package here and some ad design there will add to your skillset and could pay for breakfast later.

Oh, and don’t worry about me. I’ve got irons in the fire.

